

# **Hawridge & Cholesbury Commons Preservation Society**

# 54th Annual General Meeting

# Thursday 2nd December 2021 at 7.30pm at Cholesbury Village Hall

#### Minutes

**PRESENT:** Mark Hobbs (Chairman), Philip Prettejohn (Treasurer), David Dennis (Minutes Secretary). **Committee Members** – Isobel Clark, Janet Hopkinson. **Members:** Christine Stott, David Barnard, John and Doreen Cooper, Lizzie Every, Charles and Elizabeth Firth, Mike and Pam Franklin, Sam Holland, James Joliffe, Richard Vasey.

#### 1.0 WELCOME

Mark Hobbs welcomed everyone to the 54th AGM of the Society, which could once again be held face to face, unlike last year's AGM that was held remotely as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic.

#### 1.1 APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from: **Committee members** – Nick Brown, John Caple, Lindsay Griffin (Vice-Chairman), Sarah Higgins, Rebecca Walton, Tim Watts. **Members** - Joan Barnard, Anne Byrne, Clive and Gillian Fleckney, Mike and Sue Fletcher, Diana Garner, Veronica Mash, Michelle Storm, David Tarn, Sarah Tester, Windsor and Paddy Thomas.

#### 2.0 MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS AGM

The minutes of the 2020 AGM held on 24th November had been posted on the HCCPS website and emailed to all those who had attended. It was agreed that these were a true and accurate record and were duly signed by Mark Hobbs.

## 3.0 MATTERS ARISING

All matters arising were due to be addressed in reports later in the meeting.

#### 4.0 CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

Mark Hobbs reported on a year of considerable activity on the Commons, with a number of new and continuing projects that have been received very positively by our members and the wider community. Mark thanked James Joliffe, our contractor, for his excellent work; Lindsay Griffin for her unstinting support; and the many experts, members of the committee and other volunteers for their involvement with a variety of issues, all adding to our knowledge and enjoyment of the Commons. Special thanks were reserved for Christine Stott for the huge volume of work that she undertakes personally as the owner of the Commons.

A copy of Mark's full report is attached.

#### 5.0 TREASURER'S REPORT

Philip Prettejohn reported on a successful financial year's performance by the Society, during which both our membership and our reserves have increased. The sale of our tractor during the financial year contributed a one-off increase to our income, and thanks are due to Lindsay Griffin for her efforts in selling greetings cards and calendars, which annually contribute greatly to our funds. Other committee members and volunteers had also raised valuable amounts.

A copy of Philip's full report is attached, along with a copy of the Society's final accounts for the year ended 31<sup>st</sup> October 2021, which were adopted unanimously.

Mike Fletcher was thanked for his role as Examiner, and unanimously re-appointed.



# 6.0 QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

There were no questions.

## 7.0 PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE CONSTITUTION

Philip Prettejohn explained the reasons for the proposed changes, which had been notified to members in advance. Other than administrative matters, the major change was the proposal to allow the AGM to take place up to seven months after the end of the Financial Year, rather than within two. This was to enable the meeting to take place in the late Spring, when the better weather would encourage more people to attend. The Financial Year end would remain unchanged, and, as now, the accounts would be posted on the HCCPS website before the end of the Calendar Year. If adopted, then the next AGM would be in 2023, but an EGM could be called in 2022 if desired. After Philip's explanation, the motion to change the constitution was proposed by Janet Hopkinson, seconded by John Cooper and passed unanimously.

# 8.0 ELECTION OF COMMITTEE

As all officers and committee members were able and willing to stand, and there were no other nominations, Mark Hobbs suggested that they should be voted on in bulk. This was agreed. The motion to re-elect the existing committee was proposed by Christine Stott and seconded by Doreen Cooper. The following were unanimously re-elected:

Chairman: Mark Hobbs, Vice Chairman: Lindsay Griffin, Treasurer: Philip Prettejohn, Minutes Secretary: David Dennis.

**Committee Members:** Nick Brown, John Caple, Isobel Clark, Sarah Higgins, Janet Hopkinson, Rebecca Walton and Tim Watts.

There followed a short video presentation about the Barn Owls and Tawny Owls that are breeding successfully on and around the Commons, with the professional involvement of the Bucks Owl and Raptor Group (BORG). The video showed the checking and ringing of chicks to aid their monitoring and conservation. It was received enthusiastically by all those present. Thanks were given to Christine Stott and Lindsay Griffin for creating the video, to Michelle Storm for her excellent technical input and to Sam Holland and Lizzie Every for setting up the equipment on the night.

#### 9.0 AOB

There being no further business, the meeting was closed at 8.35pm.

Signed	 	 
Dated	 	 